Annotation Statistics / Static View

You can post here general questions about Advene in english.

Annotation Statistics / Static View

Post by Simon » Wed May 16, 2012 9:12 am

Hi

I know I'm using Advene for something which it was not exactly designed for, but I still found it to be the best software available for my purpose.

A short introduction so you can hopefully better understand my problem:
I'm a psychologist running an experiment on child/mother-interaction during a specific task. So for every mother + child I get one video on which they are performing a certain task. What I do now is I create an annotation for every spoken sentence which matches the duration of what is being said. I create those annotations in different annotation types (e.g. directive speech, non-directive speech, and so on..). Like this I get data for how the mother and her child interact during their task.

What I need now for further analysis are the statistics for each annotation type (specifically the number of annotations + total duration). I know I can get these for example by right-clicking on the annotation type. But it would be great if I had one static view which gave me all the information in one place.
Unfortunately I'm not much of a programmer and the advene wiki doesn't help me either.

First of all, is this even possible, to create such a view? Second, would it also be possible to perform some basic calculations (like summarizing the total durations of two annotation types) and report them in the view?
If yes, I would really appreciate some help on how to do this!

Thank's a lot!
Simon
Simon

Re: Annotation Statistics / Static View

Post by oaubert » Mon May 21, 2012 9:40 am